Overblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
The Mad Reader

REVIEW : Maybe Someday by Colleen Hoover

Afficher l'image d'origineMaybe Someday - Colleen Hoover

Publisher : Atria Books (May 18th 2014)

Genres : NA, Contemporary Romance

Pages : 385

Goodreads

Buy on Amazon

At twenty-two years old, Sydney is enjoying a great life: She's in college, working a steady job, in love with her wonderful boyfriend, Hunter, and rooming with her best friend, Tori. But everything changes when she discovers that Hunter is cheating on her--and she's forced to decide what her next move should be.

Soon, Sydney finds herself captivated by her mysterious and attractive neighbor, Ridge. She can't take her eyes off him or stop listening to the passionate way he plays his guitar every evening out on his balcony. And there's something about Sydney that Ridge can't ignore, either. They soon find themselves needing each other in more ways than one.

I finished this book with a bitter taste in my mouth not because it was bad but because of the message behind it.

Sydney finds out her boyfriend cheated on her and is forced to move in his neighbour's appartment. He's nice, he play guitar and of course, Sydney is attracted to him. The only problem is : He has a girlfriend. See, what's my point there ? If you don't keep reading. If you do... Keep reading.

It's the exact same issue I've had with Anna and the French Kiss. Sorry but I don't find a guy doing inappropriate things considering he has a girlfriend, attractive nor likeable.

It's not so easy when you're trying to win a war against the heart.

I get it, I'm not heartless. But there wouldn't be a war if you hadn't make a girl you're attracted to move in, in the first place. (Yes, I'm using "you", I'm talking to Ridge. Don't judge me.) Colleen Hoover stresses the point that nothing is black or white. I agree but when you play with fire, you get burned.

And yes, they felt guily (they're the main characters of a NA novel, what did you expect ?) but that doesn't change things. Not for me, anyway.

I nontheless enjoyed the fact that she put their relationship in perspective. On one side you have the main characters battling against their feelings and mutual attraction. They are conflicted because they know it's not right but they can't help it. And on the other have you have this character who judge it in a more practical way.

I also liked the depth of the characters. Hoover put a lot of thoughts in their backstories and it shows. My favourite is Warren and I'm surprised I haven't read more reviews mentioning him. He's straight-forward, funny and protective, what's not to like ? Yes, he acts sometimes like an ass, but who doesn't ?

Her writing is simple but efficient, I flew through her pages without even thinking about it. I had absolutely no expectations regarding this book but I still enjoy most of it. I don't think it's the best NA novel ever but it's still worth reading if you like NA with a lot of tension, dramas and self-conflict.

           

 

Partager cet article

Repost0

Commenter cet article

A
Sorry this one wasn't better for you. I loved this one, but I can understand the issues you had. :O)
Répondre
L
For now I've read two Colleen Hoover books (the review for Confess will be posted in september) but I had mixed feelings for both. I think Colleen Hoover's books are just not right for me ^^"